Introduction

Joshua 1:9 – “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

Hello reader!

Welcome to my blog! Make sure you check out the “about” link because this first post will make a lot more sense.

So yeah, I’m Makayla. All the fun stuff about me is in the about thing, and you have now read that the main purpose of this blog is to talk about how I’m dealing with my grief after losing my dad in 2016. I’m not really here to discuss details of how he passed away, but all you need to know is it was very sudden and shocking.

Life has not been the same since then, I can tell you that. Life is what I like to call an emotional roller coaster. I’ve had lots of support and I’ve been to counselling lots since. One thing my amazing counselor told me to do was to journal all of my feelings. I thought this wouldn’t be a problem for me because I LOVE to write! But I’ve been finding it difficult to sit down and write lately (university is kind of time consuming). I’m hoping this blog will encourage me to make it a priority and write more, because it really does help me cope.

I hope that you stick around to hear some of what I’ve got to say. I promise it won’t all be depressing, I’ll try to be happy and funny sometimes too! But mostly I hope that I can show you that both strength and courage are possible even through the most difficult times in your life. If you’re going through the loss of a loved one, maybe this will make you feel like you’re not alone. If you have a friend who is going through a similar situation, maybe this will help you understand how to deal with them and help them through their situation. Or, maybe this blog will just inspire you to be strong and courageous through the storms in your life. I hope it at least does one of the above!

My plan is write at least once a week. It might be more or it might be less, we’ll see. I can tell you my first post will probably be about my dad and who he was as a person…I’ve been wanting to write something like this for a long time but it’s kind of hard. But I want you all to know how lovely my father was – so stay tuned! Here’s to trying new things and taking time to help yourself!

Lots of love,

Makayla

 

Leave a Reply

