My Dad.

I want my readers to fully understand who my father was, so here goes.

My dad was all sorts of wonderful. He had one of the brightest smiles I’ve ever seen. His bellowing laughter could be heard loud and clear and it was contagious. He teased like there was no tomorrow, and would expect it right back. He had a silly personality and loved life.

He was a bit of a nerd. Star Wars was his most favorite thing in the world, and he was so excited about all of the upcoming movies. He also loved all superheroes, I’m not even sure if he had a favorite one… He also loved things like Star Trek, Lord of the Rings, etc. I used to ask my Dad questions about these things all the time, one, because I was genuinely curious, but also because I just loved listening to him talk about something he knew so much about and was so excited about.

My dad loved the outdoors. He loved to garden, fish, have campfires and just to be outside.

He literally never cared what anyone else thought of him (in the best and most freeing way possible). I’m pretty sure my father could never feel embarrassment. He was confident and lived life to its fullest. I always admired him for that and always strive to be like him in that way.

My dad was a hard worker. He loved his job, no matter what it brought to the table. He was admired and respected by his co-workers and bosses. He made changes for the better in the way things worked at the company. He was passionate about his job, regardless of the fact that it wasn’t the greatest or highest paying job around.

My dad was a really good husband. He loved my mom like nothing I’ve ever seen before. He was romantic and always got her little surprises, he was forgiving and understanding. He supported her in everything, and was by her side through everything life has thrown at our family.

My dad was also a really good dad. He taught me how to have a firm handshake, how to punch properly, all of the rules of football, how to laugh at myself, how to not care what anyone else thinks, how to be independent, and how to be confident in myself…among many other things!

Dad was the person I confided in the most. He gave the best advice because he didn’t beat around the bush, he told things like they were. I could talk to him about anything and I knew he’d be there to help or just listen. He supported everything I ever did and I knew how proud he was of my accomplishments.

I’m incredibly thankful for the 18 years I got to spend with my dad. Of course, it is so unfair that that’s all I got but I’m blessed to have even gotten that.

I hope you enjoyed learning a little bit about what I loved most about my dad❤️

Love, Makayla xo

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

